Questions? Call Us At 520-333-7728
Book Now
Questions?

Loi

PhD Student in Biomedical Engineering

Algebra, Trigonometry, Geometry, Calculus, Biology, Chemistry, Physics, Statistics
In-Home Tutoring
Neutral Location
SMTWTFS

Tutoring Area


About Loi


By way of introduction, my name is Loi Do. I am a 4th year PhD Candidate in Biomedical Engineering at the University of Arizona. I am capable of tutoring math (through calculus), all the sciences, english, SAT prep, GRE prep, and many other subjects.

I am from San Diego originally, earned a BS in Bioengineering at UC Berkeley and a MS in Biomedical Imaging from UC San Francisco. My primary dissertation work is on noninvasive imaging of the brain using MRI and how the different regions of the brain are connected. The 'pathologies' that I'm interested in are understanding healthy aging and Alzheimer's Disease. After I earn my PhD I would like to become an academic Professor focused on early diagnosis of diseases in hopes that intervention may delay or even prevent the disease from occurring. Hobby's of mine include boardgames, snowboarding, football and basketball. I also love, believe it or not, teaching/coaching all these things.

I communicate well with all age students, I am a graduate student instructor in BME 416 (Medical imaging) and I have 20+ years of tutoring experience dating back to high school when I had enough units to graduate my senior year so I spent my afternoons in the local elementary school as a teaching assistant to the 2nd grade and kindergarten classes. As an undergraduate at UC Berkeley, I minored in education and again spent my free time as a teaching assistant, this time 4th/5th grade mix. After I graduated I have always had high school students that I tutored in everything from algebra to precalculus and SAT prep. I am fully capable of tutoring a variety of subjects and age groups from second grade arithmetic through college level engineering courses. I prefer teaching science technology and math topics. If I had to pick my biggest strengths they are as follows:

  1. The ability to explain complex ideas and thoughts in a simple manner.
  2. The ability to explain things in many different ways.

Growing up in an immigrant household, I was constantly having to explain the mail (bills, tax forms etc) to my parents. This forced me to learn, at a young age, how to explain things with patience, empathy and in different ways so they would understand me. This struggle as a child has become a strength for me as an adult. A unique trait that I offer as a tutor is that I am very patient and kind. I understand how it feels to try your best and still struggle to understand something. I think most people that reach graduate school are there because learning came so easy to them and so they have difficulties with people who struggle to understand. I have struggled all my life to earn what I have and know and I can use this as an advantage in tutoring your child.

Thank you,

Loi

SMTWTFS

Schedule a Session with Loi

Let's get you set up with Loi! Fill in your name, phone number, subject needed, and general availability, and you'll be in touch with your new tutor before you know it!

Questions? No Problem!

Not sure what you would like to do? Send us a quick message! A TutorYard representative would be happy to take care of any questions or concerns that you might have.